Education, Entertainment, Family

Perry Hall High, Gunpowder Elementary students earn honors in 4th Annual BCPS Composition Project

NOTTINGHAM, MD—Baltimore County Public Schools students – from elementary to high school – took the theme “The World and You” and created imaginative, accomplished, and stirring pieces of music to enter into the 4th Annual BCPS Composition Project. The BCPS Office of Music and Dance Education has announced that entries submitted by 11 students have earned Distinguished Honors and Exceptional Honors. Another 11 students earned Honorable Mentions for their compositions.

This year’s theme, “The World and You,” drew from the personal inspirations and experiences of the student composers.

“Congratulations to all students who composed and submitted their own original work this year,” said Shane Jensen, BCPS music specialist. “Every student who submitted work should be extremely proud and will receive feedback from the project adjudicators. Music teachers — thank you for your dedication in guiding students through the composition process. We appreciate all you have done!”

The following students received honors in the 4th Annual BCPS Composition Project:



• Mehdi Ksit, Colgate Elementary, “Soul Filled”
• Hiba Lrhazouli, Colgate Elementary, “Save the Climate”

Honorable Mentions

• Sophie Kuhn and Yumi Davidson, Cromwell Valley Elementary, “Out of the Storm, Into the Sunlight”
• Bezaleel Mathew, Cromwell Valley Elementary, “Traveling With Me & The World”
• Joseph Oseromi, Gunpowder Elementary, “A Bright Lamp”



• Ta-Nya Thomas, Franklin Middle, “This World”

Honorable Mention

• Brian Jia, Ridgely Middle, “The World Around Me”
• Humza Syed, Ridgely Middle, “Suspense”



• James Esaw, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology, “I Keep Holdin’ On”
• Dylan Gim, Perry Hall High, “Absolution”
• Nelson Stephenson, Carver Center, “Suite for Four Strings”


• Sawyer Bowerman, Carver Center, “Fleeting Moment”
• Brandon Keever, Hereford High, “Mountains”
• Amikah Lopena, Carver Center, “Anthropic Polarity”
• Sophia Paffenback, Carver Center, “7:48 in Ronnie’s Brain”
• Maze Pelham, Carver Center, “Sunshine”

Honorable Mention

• Gabriella Cox, Towson High, “Cable Car”
• Miriam Dia, Towson High, “The Greater Good?”
• Frank Jennings, Towson High, “War Within”
• Taylor McLaughlin, Carver Center, “Yellow: The Flame of Serenity”
• Kamika Pichaikul, Carver Center, “A Journey Through False Utopia

Facebook Comments