Maryland State Board, MSDE honor 2024-2025 Teachers of the Year

BALTIMORE, MD—This week, the Maryland State Board of Education and Maryland State Department of Education held a special recognition ceremony for the 2024-2025 Teachers of the Year at the Nancy S. Grasmick State Education Building. Each of the state’s 24 school systems selects a Teacher of the Year who exemplifies outstanding work as an educator. “So many Marylanders owe their […]

BCPS educators earn 4 state-level awards from the Maryland Art Education Association

TOWSON, MD—Four Baltimore County Public Schools educators have earned statewide honors from the Maryland Art Education Association. In addition, the BCPS Office of Visual Arts has selected nine district-level award winners. State- and district-level awards will be presented during the 2024 MAEA virtual Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 30, at 7 p.m., to be followed by a Summer Celebration at […]

26 films by students from 12 schools honored in 2024 BCPS Film Expo

TOWSON, MD—Baltimore County Public Schools hosted its 2024 Film Expo on May 16 at The Senator Theatre in Baltimore. An enthusiastic audience of students, educators, and family and community members viewed finalist films created by BCPS middle and high school students. The audience laughed as animals battled for a holy banana, marveled at the graphic innovation of a man searching […]

Five BCPS students named among the 2024 Junior Achievement 18 Under 18 honorees

TOWSON, MD—Five Baltimore County Public Schools students have been named among the 2024 Junior Achievement (JA) 18 Under 18 honorees. The honored students are: Tanner Cero, Grade 8, Parkville Middle School: Daily morning show host, Parkville TV; founder of TMC Weather website, with more than 10,000 followers; owner, grass-mowing business; Eagle Scout, Boy Scouts; and volunteer with the Scouts, Back […]

Four Baltimore County women recognized at 42nd Annual Women of the Year Awards ceremony

TOWSON, MD—County Executive Johnny Olszewski and the Baltimore County Commission for Women on Thursday recognized four outstanding women during its 42nd Annual Women of the Year Awards ceremony. The Women of the Year Awards honor women residents of Baltimore County who have made significant, unique and lasting contributions within their community to champion the interests and needs of women and […]

BCPS principal, student to speak at national AVID Summer Institutes

TOWSON, MD—Baltimore County Public Schools will be represented at the national AVID Summer Institutes in Orlando, Florida, with an educator and a student set to speak at the event. Patapsco High School principal Dr. Scott Rodriguez-Hobbs and Cockeysville Middle School Grade 8 student Jayden Yancey will both take to the stage to share their experiences with the AVID program, which […]

Education Foundation earns $15,000 grant through United Way’s Changemaker Challenge

TOWSON, MD—The Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools, Inc., has been awarded a $15,000 grant through United Way of Central Maryland’s 2024 Changemaker Challenge. The grant will be used to implement, in partnership with Breathe for Change, a “Yoga for SEL” (social-emotional learning) program in BCPS. With the funding, the foundation will support 12 BCPS educators in completing the […]

BCPS high school senior honored as 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholar

BALTIMORE, MD—Four Maryland students are among this year’s U.S. Presidential Scholars, an annual program that honors the nation’s top-performing high school students in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields. Maximilian Belyantsev and Angelina Xu, Richard Montgomery High School (Montgomery County); Mingni L. Dong, Dulaney High School (Baltimore County); and Minaal A. Khwaja, Wicomico High School (Wicomico County) […]