Education, Entertainment

7 BCPS educators to receive district arts awards, 4 teachers nominated for state-level honors

TOWSON, MD—Six Baltimore County Public Schools teachers and one principal are set to be honored with district awards from the Maryland Art Education Association.

In addition, four BCPS visual arts teachers have been nominated for state-level recognition.

“We are honored to recognize these amazing educators for their service and dedication to their students, schools, and field of art education,” said Sherri Fisher, BCPS coordinator of visual arts. “Each of them truly understands the power of art to shape human potential.”

The BCPS teachers to be honored with district recognition are:

Career Art Teachers of the Year
Harold Smith, Dogwood Elementary School
Joyce Boyer, Southwest Academy
Megan Gerstenberg-Kline, Milford Mill Academy

Novice Art Teachers of the Year
Taylor Boren, Logan Elementary School
Jasmine Silverman, Deep Creek Middle School
Jenn Moss, Dundalk High School

In addition, Kyria Joseph, principal of Milford Mill Academy, will be honored with a new district-level award, honoring administrators who value and support arts education.

The four teachers nominated for state awards will receive notification of final awards in November. The nominees are:

Elementary Teacher of the Year: Sara Murphy, Halethorpe Elementary School
Middle School Teacher of the Year: Camille Gibison, Golden Ring Middle School
Secondary School Teacher of the Year: Pam Ehrenreich, Chesapeake High School
Linda Popp Leadership Award: Vernon Fains, Pine Grove Elementary School

The district-level and state-level awardees will be recognized at a reception and ceremony at the Walters Art Museum on Sunday, December 15, 2019.

Please follow and like us: