Business, Education

Perry Hall, Eastern Tech students named National Merit Scholarship winners

National Merit ScholarshipTOWSON, MD – The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced that three Baltimore County Public Schools students are among the 2,500 high school seniors who have won single payment $2,500 scholarships sponsored by the corporation.

The honored students are:

  • Olivia A. Banks, Perry Hall High School, who plans to have a career in biophysics
  • Quinton T. Davidson, Eastern Technical High School, who wants to pursue a career in computer engineering
  • Meera A. Rothman, Dulaney High School, who is interested in a law career

The National Merit Scholarship Program was established in 1955 to honor scholastically talented American youth. It is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.

Story continues below

By the conclusion of this year’s competition, about 7,500 National Merit Scholar Finalists will have won National Merit Scholarship Awards worth more than $32 million. In addition to the just-announced National Merit $2,500 Scholarships and previously-announced corporate-sponsored scholarships, the college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be announced on June 7 and July 17.

About 1.6 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. Last fall, some 16,000 Semifinalists were designated on a state representational basis. From the Semifinalist group, some 15,000 met Finalist requirements.

Facebook Comments


CBD Supply Maryland
Ganga Spa
Chris Montcalmo Live
Baltimore County Breaking News