Baltimore County educator among finalists for Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

BALTIMORE, MD—The Maryland State Department of Education on Monday named six finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching for elementary school students, and an educator from Baltimore County is among them.

The awards, established in 1983, honor teachers in grades K-12 who demonstrate deep content knowledge and the ability to motivate and enable students to be successful in mathematics or science.

This year’s Maryland finalists in the K-6th grade are:


  • Kimberlie Grabenstein – Williamsport Elementary School
    (Washington County Public Schools)
  • Jessica Owens – Hillsmere Elementary School
    (Anne Arundel County Public Schools)
  • Kristina Powell – Maidens Choice School
    (Baltimore County Public Schools)


  • Christina Baker – Four Seasons Elementary School
    (Anne Arundel County Public Schools)
  • Lisa Herckner – Grasonville Elementary School
    (Queen Anne’s County Public Schools)
  • Norah Macphee – Mayfield Woods Middle School
    (Howard County Public Schools)

“These finalists represent excellence in teaching and embody the ideals of innovation, dedication, and excellence,” said Interim State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Carey Wright. “Their passion for STEAM education is truly inspiring, and I congratulate them on this well-deserved honor.”

The awards will be presented at a national level. Each year, up to 108 teachers from across the country are selected to receive the awards, which are given by the National Science Foundation. In addition to the $10,000 award, teachers receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of professional development opportunities.

This article was written with the assistance of AI and reviewed by a human editor.

Photo via Pixabay

Please follow and like us: