Perry Hall Middle School student elected Vice Chair of Baltimore County Junior Councils

PERRY HALL, MD—At the April 20 Baltimore County Student Councils General Assembly meeting, students elected the current BCSC president, first vice president, and community outreach director to serve again during the 2021-2022 school year.

Students also elected officers for the newly established Baltimore County Junior Councils, which were created to enhance and nurture the influence and leadership of middle school students.

The elected officers are:

Baltimore County Student Councils

President: Samantha Warfel, Hereford High School
Samantha has served as president of BCSC since June 2020. Prior to that, she served as vice president from 2019-2020. Under her leadership, BCSC has hosted a P.I.V.O.T. (Positive Informational Virtual Organizational Tips) event, bi-monthly General Assemblies, monthly Instagram Live lunch chats, and its inaugural Black History Month Summit. It also has implemented implicit bias training and launched Baltimore County Junior Councils. Samantha also serves as communications director and chair of the Women’s Leadership Forum for the Maryland Association of Student Councils and was named BCSC Distinguished Student Leader of the Year for 2020 by MASC. In addition, she is chief of staff for the State Student Member of the Board Advisory Council. At Hereford High, Samantha is a member of the National English Honor Society and National Honor Society.

First Vice President: Claire Cabral, Hereford High School
Claire has served as vice president of BCSC since June 2020 and assisted in the creation of Baltimore County Junior Councils. She also serves as school safety liaison for the Maryland Association of Student Councils and Baltimore County student representative for the Maryland Center for School Safety. At Hereford High, Claire is an honor roll student, freshman Student Council advisory board member, and a member of the Key Club and Model United Nations.

Community Outreach Director: Carter Bohart, Eastern Technical High School
Carter has been involved with BCSC since 2016 and has served as community outreach director since 2018. He is the Division 2 liaison to the Maryland Association of Student Councils. At Eastern Tech, he serves as vice president of the National Spanish Honor Society and the Tri-M Music Honors Society. He is an executive board member of Eastern Tech’s student government, an advisory board member to the National Honor Society, and member of the National English Honor Society.

Baltimore County Junior Councils

Chair and BCSC Second Vice President: Anisa Kalil, Dumbarton Middle School
Anisa is an honor roll student who currently serves as a member of BCSC Diversity and Equity Affairs Committee, BCSC Board of Selected Students, Students Against Violence Everywhere, and Dumbarton Middle’s Student Government Association. She also is a member of her school’s tennis team and plays the violin in the school orchestra and Honor Orchestra. She holds a second-degree black belt and is a junior instructor in Tae Kwon Do.

Vice Chair: Adalyn Murveit, Perry Hall Middle School
Adalyn is an honor roll student and earned high honors in the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth talent search. At her school, she is involved with the strategic game and environmental clubs, student council, and the Spanish Honor Society. She has been taking piano lessons for five years and is part of a band. She also volunteers at the National History Society of Maryland and around her school.

Please follow and like us: