Business, Education

Perry Hall High School senior receives Outstanding Young Women Leaders Program award

Do you value local journalism? Support today.

PERRY HALL, MD—Six Baltimore County Public Schools seniors received awards and scholarships for their participation in the first cohort of the Outstanding Young Women Leaders Program, a partnership between Towson University and BCPS.

The awards were presented during a virtual ceremony on January 28, which featured BCPS Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams and Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick, Presidential Scholar and Women’s Leadership Ambassador at Towson University. The program is sponsored by First Financial Federal Credit Union.

The following awards were presented:

Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick Scholarships winners

  • Carmelli Leal, Eastern Technical High School – $2,000
  • Georgia Hammond, Hereford High School – $1,000
  • Chahat Kumari, Dundalk High School – $500
  • Karalyn Varricchio, Perry Hall High School – $500

Award of Distinction winners

  • Rameen Aamir, Woodlawn High School – $250
  • Nasreen Naqvi, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology – $250

Over the past year, one female student from each BCPS high school received leadership skills training through the program. They participated in Grasmick Leadership Conversations with outstanding professionals, including Dr. Kristi Briggs, Johns Hopkins Medicine; Congressman John Sarbanes; Kim Williams, First Financial Federal Credit Union; and Courtney Cox and Lorie Logan Bennett, Towson University Admissions Office. Each student was also matched with a professional female mentor for the year.

The selection process for the Outstanding Young Women Leaders Program began with each BCPS high school principal nominating up to three candidates who met academic, leadership, and community service requirements. The Towson University Women’s Leadership Collective selected a finalist from each school after reviewing their applications, recommendations, and transcripts and conducting interviews.

During the culminating ceremony for the 2020 cohort, the 2021 cohort was announced.

Please follow and like us: