Education, Sci-Tech

Six BCPS students earn placement into Johns Hopkins Future Scholars Program

Do you value local journalism? Support today.

TOWSON, MD—High school juniors from three Baltimore County Public Schools have been accepted into the prestigious Johns Hopkins University’s Future Scholars Program for the upcoming school year, in addition to the previously announced Pikesville High students.

Ten or fewer high school students from the Baltimore area are accepted into the Future Scholars Program each year. This year, six of those students attend BCPS. Through the program, high school seniors can take two Johns Hopkins University math classes for credit without tuition costs.

The selected BCPS students are:

  • Rishi Anand, Hereford High School
  • Evan Flaks, Pikesville High School
  • Lukas Labuff, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology
  • Oluyinka Lindblad, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology
  • Alan Mao, Towson High School
  • Benjamin Matz, Pikesville High School

To identify candidates for the program, the Johns Hopkins University Department of Mathematics works with school counselors and math faculty to target potential participants.

All high schools in the Baltimore area receive an email with nomination materials around the end of February or beginning of March.

School counselors and math faculty are asked to nominate junior-level students of exceptional mathematical ability to compete for admission to the program.

All nominated students are given a locally-proctored qualifying exam, which is designed to assess students’ problem-solving approaches.

Please follow and like us: