Education, Sci-Tech, Sports

Perry Hall High School takes 1st place in Washington DC Electric Vehicle Grand Prix

NOTTINGHAM, MD—Perry Hall High School took first place this weekend in the annual Washington DC Electric Vehicle Grand Prix.

The team consisted of two drivers (Chance Sullivan and Ryan Nguyen) and two pit crew members (Patrick Robertson and Kaden Todjo).

The team was led by Mr. Michael Tedeschi.

The winner is not based on speed, but on driving the electric car the farthest during a one-hour run on a closed track using only battery power. For the competition, student teams build and race battery powered electric cars. The project also helps build project management skills while working in a team environment. Other aspects of the event involve marketing, PR and fundraising as well as logistics planning in preparation for the races.

Final standings:

  • First place: Perry Hall High School – 90 Laps
  • Second place: Jackson Reed High School – 82 Laps
  • Third place: Oxon Hill High School – 80 Laps

Photo via Perry Hall High School

Facebook Comments
Please follow and like us: