Joppatowne High School educator among Harford County’s 2024 teachers of the year

Do you value local journalism? Support today.

BEL AIR, MD—Harford County Public Schools officials have announced the finalists for all areas being honored at the 2024 Celebration of Excellence in Education. These areas include leadership, facilities, food and nutrition, technology, educational support professionals, and custodians.

Each nomination was carefully reviewed and scored by a judging panel to determine the finalists.

Teacher of the Year

  • Verna Hiser, Gifted and Talented Resource Teacher, Homestead/Wakefield Elementary School
  • Jennifer Knapp, First Grade Teacher, Red Pump Elementary School
  • Erica Richardson, Social Studies Teacher, Joppatowne High School
  • Jennifer Selke, Teacher Specialist-Reading, Emmorton Elementary School
  • Jill Truszkowski, Foreign Language Teacher-Spanish, C. Milton Wright High School

Principal of the Year

  • Lisa Minutoli, Churchville Elementary School
  • Laurie Namey, Magnolia Middle School
  • Ronald Wooden, Old Post Road Elementary School

Assistant Principal of the Year

  • Melissa McKay, Southampton Middle School
  • Erin Morring, Magnolia Elementary School
  • Tara Sample, Riverside Elementary School

Educational Support Professional of the Year

  • Noel First, Administrative Support Specialist-Lead, Deerfield Elementary School
  • Dwayne Howell, School Safety Liaison, Magnolia Middle School
  • Beth Lampieri, Paraeducator, Forest Hill Elementary School

Food and Nutrition Worker of the Year

  • Faiza Ansari, Food Service Worker, Homestead/Wakefield Elementary School
  • Charles Coakley, Distribution Center Associate, Business Services
  • Anne Garner, Satellite Kitchen Assistant, Emmorton Elementary School

Facilities Worker of the Year

  • Anthony Frassetto, Boiler Technician, Facilities
  • Donald “DJ” Smacher, Crew Chief-Plumbing and Heating, Facilities
  • Ralph Williams, HVAC Technician, Facilities
  • Technology Staff Member of the Year
  • Todd Floros, Printer I, Office of Technology

Custodian of the Year

  • Vickie Brenza Preston, Custodian, Havre de Grace Middle School
  • Harvey Cage, Chief Custodian Level IV, Havre de Grace Middle School
  • David Johnson, Custodian, Ring Factory Elementary School

A surprise announcement for each award winner will take place at the Celebration of Excellence in Education event, scheduled for April 9, 2024.

Please follow and like us:

Chris Montcalmo - This Euphoric State EP