Six BCPS students named Presidential Scholars candidates for academics

TOWSON, MD—On the basis of their academic achievements, six Baltimore County Public Schools seniors from four high schools have been named candidates in the prestigious U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The candidates are:

  • Oluwatoyosi Dada, Towson High School
  • Rose E. Deguet Delury, Towson High School
  • Mingni L. Dong, Dulaney High School
  • Kai L. Haavik, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology
  • Enyu Ling, Western School of Technology and Environmental Science
  • Aisha A. Olufayo, Western School of Technology and Environmental Science

Candidates were selected based on their outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by chief state school officers, other partner recognition organizations and YoungArts, the National Foundation for the Advancement of Artists.

Semifinalists will be announced in mid-April, and the final list of the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be revealed in early May. Students chosen as U.S. Presidential Scholars receive Presidential medallions.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, and school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

Please follow and like us: