Business, Sci-Tech

Baltimore County among 11 new communities designated as new American World War II Heritage Cities

Do you value local journalism? Support today.

WASHINGTON—The National Park Service has announced the designation of 11 communities across the United States as American World War II Heritage Cities, and Baltimore County is included among them.

The American World War II Heritage Cities Program honors the contributions of local towns, cities, counties and their citizens who stepped into the workforce to support America’s war effort during the second world war. Only one American World War II Heritage City can be designated in each state or territory.

The 11 newly designated communities are:

  • Foley, Alabama
  • Tempe, Arizona
  • Richmond, California
  • Wilmington, Delaware
  • Waterloo, Iowa
  • Baltimore County, Maryland
  • Johnson County and Warrensburg, Missouri (joint community nomination)
  • Hastings, Nebraska
  • Boulder City and Henderson, Nevada (joint community nomination)
  • Yonkers, New York
  • Bedford County, Virginia

World War II permeated every aspect of American life and resulted in a large migration of people within the United States. Individuals and families relocated to industrial centers for good-paying war jobs and out of a sense of patriotic duty. Many industrial centers became “boom towns,” growing at phenomenal rates. Workers from around the nation had to intermingle with each other and overcome differences to meet war demands, forever changing the cultural landscape of the United States.

Contributions by a city to the World War II home front war effort include defense manufacturing, such as ships, aircraft, uniforms, and equipment; production of food and consumer items for Armed Forces and home consumption; volunteer participation; and civil defense preparedness.

The World War II Heritage Cities program was established by the John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act of 2019 to recognize the historic importance of the United States’ domestic involvement in World War II and ensure the continued preservation of a defining period in American history. This year’s additions follow the inaugural designation of Wilmington, North Carolina in September 2020.

“(This is) a terrific announcement for Baltimore County,” said Councilman David Marks. “Middle River, in particular, is an essential part of our country’s aviation history and was critical in supplying aircraft during the Second World War. I would like to acknowledge the hard work of Patrick Taylor and the County Executive’s staff in preparing this application.”

Please follow and like us: