BCPS names School Counselors of the Year, School Counselor Advocate of the Year

Do you value local journalism? Support today.

TOWSON, MD—The Baltimore County Association for Counseling and Development has recognized a new class of outstanding school counselors for the 2022-23 school year, each for their contributions to students, schools, and the school counseling profession.

“The school counselors in our BCPS schools play vital roles in ensuring the academic progress, personal growth, and overall well-being of our students,” said BCPS Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams. “The annual awards from the Baltimore County Association of Counseling and Development are one way we can thank these tireless professionals for the daily care and superior services they bring to support our students.”

This year, the following Team BCPS members have been named School Counselors of the Year:

  • Erin Ruocco, West Towson Elementary School
  • Amy Selby, Deep Creek Middle School
  • Emily Dewlin, Dundalk High School

The following school counselors with less than five years’ experience were named Rookie School Counselors of the Year:

  • Samantha Lutters, Deep Creek Elementary School
  • Stacey Jones, Middle River Middle School
  • Milan Amos, Catonsville High School

In addition, the association honored Cockeysville Middle School Principal Adam Carney as its School Counselor Advocate of the Year. This award honors a BCPS administrator, teacher, support staff, parent, or community member who consistently advocates for and supports the critical work school counselors do for all children.

Please follow and like us: