Parkville, Golden Ring art teachers to be honored for excellence

baltimore-county-public-schools-bcpsEight art teachers from Baltimore County Public Schools will be honored by the Maryland Art Education Association (MAEA) during its annual conference.  In addition to six districtwide winners, two BCPS educators will receive state-level awards.

Stacey Bentley of Summit Park Elementary School, will be named Maryland Elementary Level Art Educator of the Year, and Linda McConaughy, retired visual arts supervisor, will be named Maryland Emeritus Art Educator of the Year.

In nominating Bentley, Sherri Fisher, BCPS coordinator of visual arts, wrote:

“Stacey Bentley is a model of finding the possibilities in obstacles. She speaks from a place of experience and compassion about the power of art education. She truly sees student’s unique qualities and abilities as gifts and creates a tremendously positive and productive classroom. Additionally, she serves as the lead elementary art teacher on our Special Education Work Group. Stacey leads teachers of varying content areas and collaborates with teachers across the district in improving ways to work with students, their families and adult assistance who represent a broad spectrum of need. She develops ways to empower the artistic development of each student and support every stakeholder. The field of art education is stronger because of voices like hers.”

Of McConaughy, Fisher said:

“After 31 years of serving in nearly every capacity from teacher and administrator to supervisor in Baltimore County Public Schools and several roles in the National Art Education Association, Linda is now focusing on her career as an artist. Linda loves to investigate the natural world through collecting, drawing, and painting, and growing things in her garden. She has been published in numerous journals and books and exhibits her artwork widely across the US.”

Story continues below

The BCPS teachers to be honored with district recognition are:

Novice Art Teachers of the Year
Emma Popp, Grange Elementary School
Karly Rosencrans, Dundalk Middle School
Lindsay Miller, Towson High School

Career Art Teachers of the Year
Kerry Towner, Hampton Elementary School
Camille Gibson, Golden Ring Middle School
Catlin Tellie, Parkville High School

The awardees will be recognized at a reception and ceremony hosted at Towson University on Friday, October 19.

The ceremony is part of the 2018 MAEA conference, which will be hosted by Towson University and Dulaney High School on October 19 & 20.


Facebook Comments


CBD Supply Maryland
Chris Montcalmo Live
Baltimore County Breaking News