Local students honored at 31st annual High School Art Exhibit

BCPS High School Art Exhibit 2017TOWSON, MD – Baltimore County Public Schools students earned honors at the awards reception for the 31st Annual High School Art Exhibit, held at Goucher College in Towson.

In welcoming guests to the exhibit reception, Sherri Fisher, BCPS visual arts coordinator, said: “The artwork in this exhibition represents every high school across Baltimore County. It represents the best of our art students, our educators, and Baltimore County’s commitment to visual arts education. The work you see tonight is the result of great effort and dedication both of art students and their teachers. We would not be standing in here in amazement of these complex and creative artworks had it not been for these students’ art experiences in a robust sequential PreK through Grade 12 program.”

The students recognized at the exhibit reception and their respective high schools and awards are:

Laubheimer Awards
(named after the late James Laubheimer, former BCPS coordinator of art)
Best in Show – Julia Gould, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology
1st Place – Sarah Huffman, Hereford High
2nd Place – Blossom Ibekwe, Overlea High
3rd Place – Veronica Chen, Carver Center
Best 3D – Arielle Rodgers, Franklin High
Best Painting – Mackenzie Brady, Kenwood High
Best Drawing – Grace Ebacher-Rini, Hereford High
Best Photo – Ringus Chase, Parkville High
Best Other Media – Caddain Moe, Catonsville High

Azrael, Franz, Schwab & Lipowitz Awards
(The law firm of Azrael, Franz, Schwab & Lipowitz has been a longtime supporter of the visual arts in BCPS, and each year selects student works for exhibition in its Towson office.)

1st Place – Sarah Huffman, Hereford High
2nd Place – Blossom Ibekwe, Overlea High
3rd Place – Rachel Henry, Patapsco High

Brendan Colianni, Chesapeake High
Hannah Bewley, Dulaney High
Arielle Rodgers, Franklin High
Maddi Benn, Hereford High
Nataly Rivera, Parkville High
Shreyesh Shrestha, Perry Hall High
Teachers Choice
Julia Gould, Carver Center

People’s Choice
Hannah Bewley, Dulaney High

Superintendent’s Choice
Brett Maul, Franklin High

Superintendent’s Purchase Awards
1st Place – Erin Wilson, Sparrows Point High
2nd Place – Hannah Flach, Perry Hall High
3rd Place – Brett Maul, Franklin High
Laubheimer Honorable Mentions
Andrea Angeles, Perry Hall High
Quinn Batley, Towson High
Alexandra Bellman, Perry Hall High
Maddi Benn, Hereford High
Hanna Bewley, Dulaney High
Morgan Dezum, Randallstown High

Emalee Fritz, Patapsco High
Cheyenne Greear, Parkville High
Sarah Heiland, Catonsville High
Rachel Henry, Patapsco High
Nick Kokoska, Patapsco High
Will Kraft, Hereford High
Maggie Lambert, Patapsco High
Ariel Mitchell, Parkville High
Taylor Muir, Kenwood High
Tiffany Ngacha, Eastern Tech High
Nataly Rivera, Parkville High
Kyla Sklar, Perry Hall High (2 awards)
Grace Toscano, Carver Center
Erin Wilson, Sparrows Point High
Destiney Zelinski, Patapsco High

The exhibit closes on Monday, June 5. Many of the works are available for sale. For more information, contact the Office of Visual Arts at 443-809-4030.

Facebook Comments