Education, Events, Politics, Sci-Tech

Elected officials, community leaders share congratulatory videos for BCPS Class of 2020

TOWSON, MD—With virtual graduation ceremonies less than a week away, nearly two dozen elected officials and community leaders have congratulated the BCPS Class of 2020 by offering well wishes and words of wisdom through videos posted online.

Now, the community can do the same.

The #DearBCPSGrads campaign gives everyone the opportunity to offer congratulations and remarks by sharing videos or photos to social media for the BCPS Class of 2020. Community messages will follow the 19 videos posted by elected officials, including from Baltimore County Executive Johnny Olszewski and Del. Adrienne Jones, the Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates. All of the messages to graduates can be viewed online.

State Delegates Eric Ebersole, Cathi Forbes, Jessica Feldmark, Michele Guyton, Bob Long, Ric Metzgar, Sheila Ruth, and Dana Stein shared messages for graduates. So did State Senators Shelly Hettleman, Kathy Klausmeier, Clarence Lam, Charles Sydnor, and Chris West. Baltimore County Council members Todd Crandell, David Marks, Julian Jones, and Tom Quirk had positive messages for graduates as well.

Robin Hood Chief Executive Officer Wes Moore, a best-selling author and former combat veteran, also had an uplifting message for the BCPS Class of 2020.

“We appreciate everyone who reached out to the BCPS Class of 2020,” said BCPS Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams. “During these difficult times, their accomplishments should be celebrated as they transition into the next phases of their lives. I know I am proud of every graduate.”

BCPS will hold virtual graduations starting next week to honor the BCPS Class of 2020. Virtual graduations will begin Wednesday, June 10, and run through Thursday, June 18. A link to each virtual graduation will be posted online, as will a link to the graduation program. All are welcome to watch.

The virtual graduation schedule is as follows:

Wednesday, June 10

  • Ridge Ruxton School – 10 a.m.
  • Maiden Choice School – 12 p.m.
  • Post-Secondary Functional Academic Learning Support (PSFALS) Program – 2 p.m.
  • Battle Monument School – 4 p.m.

Thursday, June 11

  • Eastern Technical High School – 10 a.m.
  • Dulaney High School – 12 p.m.
  • Western School of Technology – 2 p.m.
  • George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology – 4 p.m.

Friday, June 12

  • Pikesville High School – 10 a.m.
  • Towson High School – 12 p.m.
  • Loch Raven High School – 2 p.m.
  • Hereford High School – 4 p.m.

Monday, June 15

  • Milford Mill Academy – 10 a.m.
  • Franklin High School – 12 p.m.
  • Perry Hall High School – 2 p.m.
  • Owings Mills High School – 4 p.m.

Tuesday, June 16

  • Sparrows Point High School – 10 a.m.
  • New Town High School – 12 p.m.
  • Chesapeake High School – 2 p.m.
  • Patapsco High School and Center for the Arts – 4 p.m.

Wednesday, June 17

  • Parkville High School – 10 a.m.
  • Randallstown High School – 12 p.m.
  • Overlea High School – 2 p.m.
  • Woodlawn High School – 4 p.m.

Thursday, June 18

  • Lansdowne High School – 10 a.m.
  • Catonsville High School – 12 p.m.
  • Dundalk High School – 2 p.m.
  • Kenwood High School – 4 p.m.

Class of 2020 Celebration – Wes Moore from Baltimore County Public Schools on Vimeo.

Facebook Comments