Finalists named for 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year

BALTIMORE – Dr. Karen Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools, on Thursday announced the names of seven finalists for 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year.

“Maryland’s teachers have a lasting impact on the lives of our students—educating, encouraging, and inspiring our future workforce,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “These seven finalists are representative of the high quality of teachers in our great state, and I congratulate the nominees on this well-deserved recognition.”

Dr. Salmon agreed that being a finalist is an exciting honor for each of the teachers.

“These outstanding educators are a true inspiration to their colleagues and students, exemplifying excellence in education across Maryland,” said Dr. Salmon. “Our seven finalists have demonstrated a tremendous drive for student success by creating personal connections and providing support both in and out of the classroom. We congratulate our finalists for surpassing all expectations, and going above and beyond in the work they do.”

The finalists are: Teresa Beilstein, Anne Arundel County; Brandi Jason, Carroll County; Jossie Perry, Cecil County; Michael Franklin, Frederick County; Paige Milanoski, Harford County; Madeline Hanington, Montgomery County; Joshua Edwards, Washington County.

The finalists were selected by a panel of judges from a number of key Maryland education organizations representing principals, teachers, school boards, teacher unions, parents, and higher education. All finalists were chosen based on a rigorous set of state and national criteria that include teaching philosophy and results, community involvement, knowledge of general education issues, and suggestions for professional and instructional improvement. The finalists were selected from a group of 24 local teachers of the year, representing the 24 Maryland school systems.

The 2019-2020 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced during a gala reception and dinner at Martin’s West in Baltimore on October 25, 2019. The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and a new car valued at more than $25,000, donated by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association.

Dr. Richard Warren, Jr., a Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) 8th grade teacher at Somerset County’s Crisfield High School and Academy, is the current Maryland Teacher of the Year. Maryland has celebrated its Teacher of the Year Program and participated in the National Teacher of the Year Program for 29 years. In the last 10 years, Maryland has had five national finalists, with three going on to become National Teacher of the Year.

Presenting sponsors of the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program are Comcast, the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald’s Family of Maryland, SMART Technologies, and Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems. Platinum sponsors are BGE, Maryland Public Television, NTA Life, and Whiting-Turner Contracting Company.

The selected Maryland Teacher of the Year will go on to compete for the esteemed National Teacher of the Year Award, to be announced next April. Maryland’s Teacher of the Year will also spend the coming year as an educational speaker and advisor in Maryland, and will be honored by the President at the White House next spring. The Maryland Teacher of the Year will also participate in several national meetings and conferences.

Facebook Comments


CBD Supply Maryland
Ganga Spa
Chris Montcalmo Live
Baltimore County Breaking News